Public Protection

Receiving care from an IBCLC ensures that the professional has the knowledge and expertise necessary to provide specialized lactation services. The “IBCLC” accreditation is the only globally recognized certification for breastfeeding professionals.

Other health professionals and stakeholders are obviously called upon to provide breastfeeding care and assistance to families. Nurses, doctors, midwives, breastfeeding peer-supporters, pharmacists, etc., provide valuable assistance. However, certain situations do require calling on more specialized support.

Vigilance may be needed in finding a qualified professional to help with breastfeeding. The titles "Certified Lactation Specialist", "Lactation Counselor", "Breastfeeding Peer Counselor", "Lactation Education Counselor" or other names are not standardized, and cannot guarantee the competence of a person. The advice or care offered by an untrained person may even be detrimental to the progress of breastfeeding. Using the services of an IBCLC guarantees that this caregiver meets the criteria of excellence in lactation care.

It is the IBLCE that acts as the professional order for IBCLCs around the world. To check if someone is IBLCE certified, visit https://iblce.org/ibclc-credential-verification/.

If you believe that an IBCLC does not meet the standards of practice or respect the code of ethics of the  profession, a complaint can be filed with the IBLCE, which will lead to an investigation (https://iblce.org/resources/disciplinary -procedures /).

Protection du public

Recevoir les soins d’une IBCLC certifie que la professionnelle possède les connaissances et l’expertise nécessaire à la prestation de services spécialisés en lactation. L'accréditation « IBCLC » est la seule certification mondialement reconnue pour les professionnelles en allaitement. 

D’autres professionnels de la santé et intervenants sont évidemment appelés à offrir des soins et de l’aide aux familles en matière d’allaitement. Les infirmières, médecins, sage-femmes, marraines d’allaitement, pharmaciens, etc. apportent leur aide précieuse. Il se peut toutefois que le recours à du soutien plus spécialisé soit nécessaire dans certaines situations. 

La vigilance est de mise dans la recherche d’un(e) professionnel(le) pour de l’aide à l’allaitement. Les titres « Spécialiste en allaitement », « Conseillère en lactation », « Accompagnante en allaitement », « Intervenante en allaitement » ou autres appellations ne sont pas encadrés et ne peuvent garantir la compétence d’une personne. Il se peut même que les conseils ou soins offerts par une personne non-formée soient préjudiciables à l’évolution de l’allaitement. Faire appel aux services d’une IBCLC certifie que cette intervenante répond aux critères d’excellence en matière de soins en lactation. 

C’est l’IBLCE qui agit comme ordre professionnel pour les IBCLC à travers le monde. Pour vérifier si une personne est certifiée par l’IBLCE, visitez la page https://iblce.org/ibclc-credential-verification/.

Si vous estimez qu’une IBCLC ne respecte pas les normes de pratique et le code de déontologie de sa profession, une plainte peut être déposée à l’IBLCE qui pourra enquêter sur cette personne (https://iblce.org/resources/disciplinary-procedures/).